Victoria Crosses of the Anglo-Boer War

by Ian Uys

Cover page

Approx 200 pages in ebook (pdf) format

This is an Ebook. It can be read on a desktop, laptop, tablet or dedicated eBook reader. It will be sent to you via email.

Victoria Crosses of the Anglo-Boer War (2000)

The Victoria Cross was the highest commonwealth medal for bravery in the face of the enemy.

Their citations provide records of courage which cover the entire war and give an insight into the conditions prevailing at the time.

We read of the two British Lions rugby players who stayed on in South Africa after the 1896 tour to each win a VC, the attempted rescue of the guns at Colenso, where seven VCs were won, the blinded Scottish officer who continued leading his men, the Capetonian who carried his wounded brother away from the enemy's trenches and the first of the 'Double VCs' to be won. We read also of the American Congressional Medal of Honour winner, whose continuous bravery was recognised by a unique award.

These acts of valour show that courage will live on long after the battles arc forgotten.

The Victoria Cross is the highest award for valour which can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. Since its inception in 1854 it has been bestowed 1,354 times. It can only be awarded for acts in the presence of the enemy, making the chances of surviving a VC act one in ten.
During the First Anglo-Boer War (or Transvaal War of Independence) six VCs were awarded. These and the DCMs won were virtually the only medals awarded for that war as no campaign medal was issued. The reason for the inclusion of these VCs with those of the Second Anglo-Boer War is because the same opponents fought over the same terrain -and similar acts of bravery were performed.
The Boers had no gallantry awards - in fact they had no medals at all until they were promulgated in 1920. The Dekoratie voor Trouwe Dienst (DSO) was for officers only whereas the Anglo-Boere Oorlogmedalje was the campaign medal for the Second Anglo-Boer War. It is unfortunate that the Boers did not similarly honour their heroes; men such as Christiaan de Wet, Danie Theron and the Rev J D Kestell would certainly have qualified for an award such as the VC.
There were 78 VCs awarded for the Anglo-Boer War. An analyses of these appears in the appendices. When For Valour, the History of Southern Africa S Victoria Cross Heroes was published in 1973 there were fewer reference sources, hence some changes which appear in this book.
Each VC recipient's age is noted with his name and his biography is presented together with his citation. The OD&M (Orders, Decorations and Medals) ascribed to each person are prepared to the best of my knowledge and belief. Particulars of the 'Queen's Scarf' recipients are included because of their similarity to some VCs - an award instituted by Queen Victoria, to be awarded to the bravest men of each country, by election, during the war.

Table of Content
Monarchs of the Empire
VCs of the First Anglo-Boer War
    Lance/Cpl J Murray 
    Trooper J Danaher 
    Lieut A R Hill 
    Private J Doogan 
    Private J Osborne 
    L/Cpl J Farmer 
VCs of the Second Anglo-Boer War
    Captain C Fitzclarence 
    Captain M F M Meiklejohn 
    Sgt-Major W Robertson 
    Captain C H Mullins 
    Captain R Johnston 
    Lieut J Norwood 
    Captain E B B Towse 
    Corporal J D F Shaul 
    Lieut HEM Douglas DSO 
    Captain H N Schofield 
    Captain W N Congreve 
    Captain H L Reed 
    Lieut F S Roberts 
    Major W Babtie CMG 
    Corporal G E Nurse 
    Private G Ravenhill 
    Sergeant H R Martineau 
    Trooper H E Ramsden 
    Lieut Sir J P Milbanke, Bart 
    Lieut R J T Digby-Jones 
    Trooper H Albrecht 
    Lieut J E I Masterson 
    Private R Scott 
    Private J Pitts 
    Lieut F N Parsons 
    Sergeant A Atkinson 
    Private A E Curtis 
    Lieut E T Inkson 
    Sergeant J W Firth 
    Captain C Mansel-Jones 
    Sergeant H W Engleheart 
    Major E J Phipps-Hornby 
    Sergeant C Parker 
    Gunner I Lodge 
    Driver H H Glasock 
    Lieut F A Maxwell DSO 
    Lieut W H S Nickerson 
    Corporal H C Beet 
    Corporal J F Mackay 
    Corporal F H Kirby DCM 
    Private C Ward 
    Sergeant A H L Richardson 
    Captain W E Gordon 
    Captain DR Younger 
    Captain N R Howse 
    Private W House 
    Sergeant B T T Lawrence 
    Sergeant H Hampton 
    Corporal H J Knight 
    Private W Heaton 
    Private E Durrant 
    Lieut G G E Wylly 
    Private J H Bisdee 
    Major E D Brown 
    Lieut A C Doxat 
    Lieut H Z C Cockburn 
    Lieut R E W Turner 
    Sergeant E J G Holland 
    Private C T Kennedy 
    Sergeant D D Farmer 
    Private J Barry 
    Farrier Sgt-Major W J Hardham 
    Sergeant W B Traynor 
    Corporal J J Clements 
    Lieut F B Dugdale 
    Lieut F W Bell 
    Lieut G H B Coulson DSO 
    Sergeant J Rogers 
    Lieut W J English 
    Private H G Crandon 
    Sgt-Major A Young 
    Lieut L A E Price-Davies DSO 
    Driver F H Bradley 
    Private W Bees 
    Lieut L C Maygar 
    Surgeon-Captain T J Crean 
    Shoeing-Smith A E Ind 
    Surgeon-Captain A Martin-Leake 
The Queen's Scarf
Appendix 1 Multiple VC awards
Appendix 2 Other VC Recipients
Appendix 3 Analysed by regiment
Appendix 4 In order of gazetting
Appendix 5 Investitures
Appendix 6 Killed in World War I
Appendix 7 Cemeteries in which interred
Other titles by the author
The Author

The Author
Ian is a descendant of Knysna's first settler of 1770. He attended Muir College in Uitenhage and then served in the Air Force Gymnasium. He graduated from the University of Cape Town with a B Comm and also captained its boxing team. He was Selected as South Africa's first Commerce exchange student where he worked and studied in the USA then returned to qualify as a chartered accountant.

He lives with his family in Knysna.

Ebook version costs R90-00 and will be sent by email. It is available in PDF (Adobe) MOBI, (Kindle), and EPUB (generic ebook reader) format.

Order form for Books

Send mail wanting info on buying book

Return to Joan's eBooks

Other eBooks available